Howdy Guest!  / Create an account
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What happens to the energy when we die?
We have had this discussion here many times about spirits being made of energy. Some people believe when you die this energy is released. Now some people think the energy returns to the source while others think the energy is a spirit. So as I started studying this I found this article about energy after death. Its written by Tim Dawson a senior pathologist who lectures in neuropathology.

ATP (Adenosine Tri-Phosphate) is the most readily available form of energy substrate in cells. When we are alive our cells are constantly regenerating this substance from ADP (Di-Phosphate) using glucose and oxygen and producing carbon dioxide and water. When we die (heart beat and breathing stop) our cells continue for a short time to use up stocks of glucose and oxygen and utilise ATP for cell processes before the chemical reaction slows and ceases – maybe several hours after the heart stops, depending on ambient temperature.

One of these processes keeps muscle fibres sliding over each other. When all the ATP is used up the muscles of a dead person become “stiff”, which is known as Rigor Mortis.

ATP also keeps potent digestive enzymes in the cells locked up. When the ATP is used up these enzymes break out and start digesting the body cells from inside – a process known as Putrifaction.

After death the protective mechanisms that keep bacteria at bay in the gut is lost and these invade tissues and begin to breakdown fats, proteins etc. using up the energy locked up in them. So everything is eventually recycled.

So does this explain the energy left in our body and do away with the spirit energy?
Belief bias occurs when we make illogical conclusions in order to confirm our preexisting beliefs. Belief perseverance refers to our tendency to maintain a belief even after the evidence we used to form the belief is contradicted.